Home »

 
 

DUI

 
 

Connecticut has harsh penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.  Criminal penalties are in addition to DMV Per Se Penalties.

Criminal Penalties change January 1, 2012, requiring all first time offenders to install an interlock device on their car

Under Connecticut’s criminal law, a driver arrested for DUI will receive both a summons and a court date.  If the court proceedings result in a conviction, the following penalties must be imposed:
Second Offense
(within 10 years of last conviction)
  
Fine:     $500 to $1,000
$1,000 to $4,000
$2,000 to $8,000
Jail:  6 mo. 48 hrs.
minimum mandatory
or 6 mo., suspended with
100 hrs. community service.
2 yrs., 120 days
minimum mandatory
and 100 hrs. of
community service.
3 yrs., 1 yr. minimum mandatory and 100 hrs.of community service.
License Suspension: One year
If the arrest was in
Connecticut, for suspensions
effective on or after 11/09/2005, the suspension
is one year followed by 24 months with an approvedignition interlock device.
Suspension duration imposed for arrests that did not occur
in Connecticut is three years.
If the operator is under 21 years of age, the suspension
is three years or until 21 years of age (whichever is longer).
Permanent Revocation
(Effective Oct. 1, the person may request a hearing after at least 6 years after date of revocation)
DMV Per SE Penalties include
Driver’s 16 and 17-Years-Old
Blood Alcohol Level
 First Offense
 Second Offense
 Third Offense 
Refusal to submit to a blood,

breath or urine test
18 months
3 years
6 years
Test results of .02 or higher; up to, but  not including, .16
1 year
2 years
4 years
Test results of .16 or higher
1 year
30 months
5 years
Driver’s Between the Ages 18 to 20
Blood Alcohol Level
 First Offense
 Second Offense
 Third Offense 
Refusal to submit to a blood, breath or urine test

1 year
2 years
6 years
Test results of .02 or higher; up to, but  not including, .16
6 months
18 months
4 years
Test results of .16 or higher
240 days
20 months
5 years
Drivers 21 Years Old and Older
Blood Alcohol Level
 First Offense
 Second Offense
 Third Offense 
Refusal to submit to a blood,

breath or urine test
  6 months  1 year   3 years
Test results of .08 or higher; up to, but not including, .16
 90 days   9 months  2 years
Test results of .16 or higher
 120 days  10 months  2 1/2 years
Both the criminal court and the DMV hearing get to take a bite of you, so its very important to hire an attorney quickly, to raise any defenses you may have.